## **76TH INTERNATIONAL BOWLING TOURNAMENT**

The 76<sup>th</sup> Slovak Catholic Sokol International Bowling Tournament was held on Friday May 17<sup>th</sup> and Saturday May 18<sup>th</sup>, 2024, at the AMF Bowlero Pittsburgh Lanes, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Slovak Catholic Sokol members joined the combined bowling tournament which included members from the Greek Catholic Union (GCU) and members of the National Slovak Society (NSS).

The DoubleTree by Hilton Pittsburgh-Greentree was the host hotel for the 2024 bowling tournament and was minutes away from Bowlero Pittsburgh Lanes.

The three fraternal organizations combined with 18 Men's Team and 6 Women's Teams, for a total of 90 bowlers. The annual sporting event began Friday with team bowling beginning at 6:30 pm. The playing of the National Anthems of the United States and Canada kicked off the event. All of the bowlers received a souvenir travel bag from the fraternal societies.

On Friday evening, the bowlers were treated to a hospitality buffet at the bowling allowing ample time to eat and socialize during the tournament. The hearty buffet included BBQ Chicken Sliders, Mashed Potatoes, Halusky, Hot and Mild Sausage, Pasta, and Salad. Supreme Director of Sport and Athletics, Kathleen Watkins welcomed all the bowlers. Kathleen Watkins, Basil Wahal, Fraternal Communications Director from the GCU, and Bethany Bonnar, Member and Community Engagement Coordinator of NSS coordinated the lane assignments for all 24 teams.

Friday night team tournament winners: Female Division first place from the Team 2+2 Bowlers: Karen Bakita, Carol Mako, Diana Brashear and Jean Karaffa with a scratch score of 1937 total. This same team took first place in the Women's Team Handicap Division with a score of 2336. Way to go ladies!

The Men's Team Division Scratch First Place Winners with a score of 2358 were members from The Place to Be: John Adamcik, Ryan Lebanik, Rich Keebler and Andy Keebler. Men's Team Handicap Results include: First place winners from Munsons: John Miller, Mike Mantsch, Charles Houser, Greg Maranowski with a score of 2864.

Friday night concluded with the announcement of the Frank S. Petruff Memorial Sports Award presented each year to a member of our organization who has been very active at



Well known Mako couple, Carol and Bob.

the Assembly, Group and National level promoting and participating in the International Bowling Tournaments. Congratulations to Bob Macko on this well-deserved recognition. Bob has been a member of Group 5, Barberton, Ohio his whole life. He is the youngest of 11 and is the first in his family to be awarded the Petruff Award. Bob supports local and international events by participating in Bowling tournaments, Golf tournaments, Group

5 Bowling and Golf Tournaments and has even participated in previous Basketball and Softball tournaments. He offers help with the Sokol Club when he can. He enjoys hunting with his lifelong friends and spending time with his wife, daughter, and son. Bob attended the Bowling Tournament and shared this moment with his lovely wife, Carol whom he adores.

On Saturday morning, bowlers returned to the Bowlero Pittsburgh Lanes for the Doubles and Singles competition.

Scratch Women's Doubles First Place winners include Patricia Kutzfara and Barbara Wahal with a combined score of 952.

In the Women's Handicapped Doubles Division, the dynamic duo of Victoria Lopata and Debra Rippel earned first place with a combined score of 1219.

Rich and Andy Keebler swept the Men's Double Division with the Scratch Division First Place score of 1422 and Handicap Division First Place score of 1554.

In the Women's Singles Scratch Division, Barbara M. Wahal placed first with a score of 522. The Women's Handicap Singles Division resulted in Guinevere Maximo taking first place with a score of 629.

In the Men's Singles Scratch Division, Brian Risko claims first place with a score of 667. In the Men's Handicap Division, first place honors go to James A. Asmonga with a score of 781.

In the Women's Division for All-Events with Handicap, Guinevere Maximo is awarded with first place with a total score of 1838. Debra Rippel placed second with a total score of 1817, and third place recognition goes to Carol Mako with a total score of 1773.

The Men's division for All-Events with handicap resulted in AJ Novotney placing first with a score of 2273: Second place was awarded to Curtis Bucher for a score of 2251 and Third place honors goes Jeff Jacob with a total score of 2237. The most prestigious All Events category was awarded to Barbara Wahal for the women Greg Maranowski for the men. Congratulations to these two fine bowlers.

After the bowlers finished with doubles and singles on Saturday afternoon, an afternoon Byzantine Catholic Liturgy was celebrated by Father Val Michlik, Spiritual Advisor of the GCU. Following Liturgy, a Saturday evening reception was provided with an open bar. A memorial table honored deceased members loved and missed during the event. This digital picture slide show capturing our beloved members will be showcased at each future event. Please continue to share pictures with Nancy Kropolinsky to memorialize our loved ones.

As part of our continued outreach efforts, Raffle Baskets and donations were collected and totaled \$1,170.00. Proceeds were donated to the Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh. Thank you to all the Groups and individuals who made this outreach project a success.

The rest of the evening was spent socializing between fellow members of the three fraternal societies. On Sunday morning the bowlers and guests headed home reflecting on the eventful weekend looking forward to the 2025 Bowling Tournament.

Zdar Boh!
Nancy L. Kropolinsky
Supreme Assistant Physical Directress

## 78<sup>TH</sup> ANNUAL SLOVAK CATHOLIC SOKOL INTERNATIONAL BOWLING TOURNAMENT

## HELD AT THE BOWLERO LANES PITTSBURGH, PA - MAY 17<sup>TH</sup> - 18<sup>TH</sup>, 2024



Robert Macko of Assembly 167, Barberton, OH received the 2024 Frank S. Petruff Memorial Sports Award. L-r: Michael Matras, Supreme President Larry M. Glugosh, Robert Macko, Supreme Secretary Scott T. Pogorelec, FIC and Clarence Checton.



Michael Horvath, Marty Degnan, Frank Lipski and Tony Rasimas.



Clarence Checton, Bernard Seruga, Shane McGavitt and George McGavitt



Marc Kudlacik, Frank Pavlica, John Termyna and Robert Mosloskie



ichael Matras, David Matty, Michael Matras and Mark Matras



Jeremy Francis, Justin Francis, Dave Iskra Jr. and Dave Iskra Sr.



Mark Papcun, John Papcun and Eric Berger



George Juba, David Oleksa, Tim Germ and Mike Grohal



JoAnn Antosy, Patricia Latshaw, Deborah Unger, Megan Antosy



Sue Urcho, Patti Kropf, Brigid Delien and Tippton Wallace



Need Bowler, Guinevere Maximo, Victoria Lopata and Debra Rippel



Mary Jo Johnson, Patricia Kutzfara, Barbara Wahal and Melanie Basl



Karen Bakita, Carol Macko, Diana Brashear and Jean Karaffa